Human Resources and Payroll

Reward and Recognition


Departmental Recognition

Academic Advisor of the Year Award

Sponsored by the Center for Academic Advising, Retention, and Transitions and the Mason Academic Advisor Network (MAAN).

The purpose of this award is to promote and recognize excellence in undergraduate academic advising at George Mason University. Each year students, faculty and staff are encouraged to nominate an undergraduate academic advisor who has had a positive impact on students. The award is open to full-time faculty or staff members who have undergraduate academic advising responsibilities.

The recipient of this award will be evaluated according to the following characteristics:

Nominations are accepted every spring semester through on-line voting on the website of the Center for Academic Advising, Retention, and Transitions.

A committee of faculty and staff, including the previous year’s award recipient, reviews the nominations. Decisions are based on the quality and quantity of the nominations. The award, including $500, will be presented at the annual Academic Advisor of the Year Luncheon at the end of March.

The Distinguished Library Faculty Award

The Distinguished Library Faculty Award is an annual award presented to a library faculty member in recognition of his/her sustained and outstanding contribution to the Mason Libraries’ mission and to his/her field of expertise.


Members of the University Libraries’ administrative and professional faculty who have been at Mason for at least five years, as of the beginning of the nomination period.


Library faculty are considered by the performance of their professional duties foremost, as well as by their scholarly and service contributions to the academic research library field and to higher education. Award recipients will exemplify this threefold role; have a strong reputation among their colleagues at Mason and outside the institution; and actively foster the teaching, learning, research, and public service mission of the Libraries. Recipients will also embody organizational values such as innovation, collaboration and leadership.

Nomination Procedure:

A call for nominations will be made annually by the Office of the Dean of Libraries and University Librarian in mid-January. Complete nomination packets must include a nomination letter, a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and three letters of reference supporting the nomination. References should represent faculty colleagues from the University Libraries, from Mason’s instructional faculty, and from colleagues in the wider professional community. One reference from each of these categories is ideal, but depending upon the nominee’s role may not be practicable and, in such cases, two nominations from one category are acceptable. Nominated individuals are considered only for one award cycle and nominations must be resubmitted each year. The due date for nominations occurs around the end of February and the committee submits its recommendation to the Dean of Libraries and University Librarian by mid-March.

The Dean of Libraries and University Librarian forms a selection committee each year consisting of five faculty members: two selected from Librarians’ Council by its membership; two selected from the Management Advisory Council by its membership (excluding members of the University Librarian’s Council); and one selected from the University Librarian’s Council by its membership. The Dean of Libraries and University Librarian appoints the Committee Chair.


Recipients receive a $2,000 award and framed certificate.

The award recipient will be recognized publicly as part of Mason’s annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence event.