Current Holiday Schedule

2019 Holiday Schedule

New Year's Day

Observed Monday, January 1, 2019 (part of 2018 winter break which runs through Friday, January 4, 2019)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 21, 2019

Memorial Day

Monday, May 27, 2019

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4, 2019 - Friday, July 5, 2019

Labor Day

Monday, September 2, 2019

Thanksgiving Observance

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 (closed all day - 4 additional hours from Mason) through Friday, November 29, 2019

Winter Holiday Closing

Monday, December 23, 2019, through Friday, January 3, 20201

In order to receive holiday pay, you must be at work or on paid leave the last scheduled full day before the holiday and the first scheduled work day back after the holiday. Please be sure to check your leave balances to ensure you have the hours available if you are using leave on these days.

1Monday, January 1, 2020 is a 2020 holiday. Most faculty and staff will return to work on Monday, January 6, 2020.

Please note:

Some salaried employees may be required to work during scheduled holidays in order to provide necessary services (e.g. Mason Recreation, Police, HR & Payroll, Athletics, Advancement, Registrar, Admissions, etc.). In these cases, the employee will receive compensatory time for the hours worked to be used within one year. Wage employees who work during scheduled holidays will not receive compensatory time.

Alternate Schedule:
Employees who work weekends and do not modify their schedules ahead of time will have to use leave to cover any missing hours. Please visit the Holiday and Inclement Weather Payroll Guidance webpage for more information.