Human Resources and Payroll

Benefits

 

Current Holiday Schedule

2018 Holiday Schedule

Mason Flex Holidays 16 hours of flex holiday, to be used with supervisor approval, anytime during 2018**
New Year's Day Observed Monday, January 1, 2018 (part of 2017 winter break which runs through Wednesday, January 3, 2018)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 15, 2018
Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Observance

Wedneday, November 21, 2018 (closed all day) 4 additional hours from Mason

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Friday, November 23, 2018

Winter Holiday Closing

Monday, December 24, 2018 through

Wednesday, January 2, 20191 (inclusive)

In order to receive Thanksgiving and Winter Break holiday pay, you must be at work or on paid leave the last scheduled full day, the 1/2 day of, and the first scheduled work day after the holiday (e.g. for many, you must be at work or on paid leave on Tuesday, November 21 as well as the first scheduled work day after the holiday). Please be sure to check your leave balances to ensure you have the hours available if you are using leave on these days.

**In order to be eligible for the Mason flex holiday hours, you must have been hired by January 31, 2018.

1Monday, January 1, 2019 is a 2019 holiday. Winter break includes 16 additional hours of holiday leave granted by the Governor for 12.24.18 and 12.31.18. Most faculty and staff will return to work on Thursday, January 3, 2019.

Please note:

1. Winter Graduation is on Thursday, December 20, 2018.

2. Some salaried employees may be required to work during winter break in order to provide necessary services (e.g. Mason Recreation, Police, HR & Payroll, Athletics, Advancement, Registrar, Admissions, etc.). In these cases the employee will receive compensatory time for the hours worked to be used within one year. Wage employees who work during winter break will not receive compensatory time.