Outstanding Achievement Awards 2023 Recipients

Human Resources is excited to announce the recipients of the 2023 Outstanding Achievement Awards! In a year where we received a record number of nominations, we want to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of our Mason community and encourage you to continue to focus on faculty and staff appreciation, recognition, and engagement as we “thrive together."

Please join us for the awards ceremony on April 25 from 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. in Dewberry Hall (no RSVP is required). The ceremony will also be live-streamed by GMU-TV; the link to watch the ceremony will be posted on the Outstanding Achievement Awards website before the event.

Adjunct Faculty Award

Bruce Aft, Religious Studies

Elizabeth Spatz, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Gebre Tesfamichael, Schar School of Policy and Government


Civility Star Award:

Ethan Carter, Mason Recreation


David W. Rossell Quill Award

Shannon Davis, Mason Korea


Exceptional Support Award

Rene Ayala, College of Public Health

Jammie Chang, College of Engineering and Computing

Christine Creswell, College of Education and Human Development

Barbara Gomperts, English

Yali Guo, College of Education and Human Development

Erich Miller, Facilities Management

Bentley Nguyen, School of Business

Jade Young, College of Public Health

Leotie Yard, Housing and Residence Life


Goldie and Dianne Hattery Award for Excellence

Justin Acuna, Mason Recreation

Man-Shik Lim, Facilities Management


Jade Barricelli Spirit of Advising Excellence Award

Ashley Hill, School of Business


Margaret C. Howell Award

Philip Wilkerson, University Career Services


Martha J. Reiner Customer Service Award

Alison Senold, Center for Psychological Services


Nancy Murphy Mason Spirit Award

Lewis Forrest, University Life

Lauren Wagner, College of Visual and Performing Arts


Outstanding Achievement Award

Jessica Matthews, English

Ashanti Mumin, Police and Public Safety

Christopher Rzengota, Student Health Services


Outstanding Supervisor Award

Brian Gantt, Information Technology Services

Holly Park, College of Public Health


Mason Staff Alumni Award

Brielle DeMatteo, Criminology, Law and Society


Mason Faculty Alumni Award

Blake Silver, Honors College


Patriot Pathbreakers Award

Creative Services, Office of University Branding

Mason Square Plaza Activation Initiative


Rick Holt Active Transportation Advocate Award

Bethany Usher, Undergraduate Education


Sustainability Hero Award

Susan Mueller, Smithsonian-Mason School of Conservation

PDF version available.